Day 11: What are your views on the ethics of kink?

This was a tougher question for me.  Ethics is one of those things that is kind of subjective in my eyes.  I guess I will just go with the ethics of playing out at a club.  Any adult club that I’ve been around has been look, don’t touch without permission.  It is unethical to push yourself on anyone without their expressed permission… which is very much in line with the American society as a whole.

Or.. lets say that most of everyone I’ve met in the lifestyle operates on the consensual and safe play mentality.  Of course there are those that cross over into the non-consensual consent play.. but that is a different animal.  I think, though, grouping such a vast amount of people together and trying to set a certain set of ethics to them isn’t the easiest thing to do.  Each person has their own comfort zone.  A lot of people’s ethics stem from their childhood and is based on their parents beliefs and religious upbringing.  This can change over time, as I know my own views have.

I guess what it comes down to… is there unethical things going on in the kink community by my standards?  Sure there is.  There is always going to be someone somewhere that is doing something that I don’t agree with.  Does it make it wrong? No… my feelings on things aren’t the gospel.  I feel that people should live the way that makes them happy as long as they aren’t hurting anyone.

Did my answer actually answer this question?  I dont know… (haha)… it’s just best I could come up with.  This question reminded me of an assignment I had in college.  It was a debate I had to do with a team of people.  I had the hardest time with it… but I did what I could.   I got a B- on the paper… and a C on the actual debate.  What can I say?  I’m better with words on paper (so to speak) than talking in front of groups of people.  So shoot me.

