I am a woman.

I am a mother.  I’ve been a mother for what seems like forever.  It’s funny how being a parent becomes part of how you identify yourself.  Being a Mom is one of the hardest things I’ve ever done… but comes with a hefty reward.  It has impacted the way I live my life… the choices I’ve made… and the person I’ve been shaped into.  If I were never a mother, I wouldn’t be the person I am today.

I am an employee.  I work forty hours a week making cakes and other pastries.  I love my job but not always who I work for.  I like to think I am lucky that I enjoy what I do.  It certainly makes going to work everyday a little easier. I take pride in what I do… and am my own hardest critic.  In my eyes… what I do is never good enough.. never perfect enough.  I am constantly working to make it better.  This month is my seven year anniversary at work.. who’d have figured I’d have that many years under my belt?  Seems like just yesterday I started working there.

I am a friend.  I keep a close circle of friends.  I learned a long time ago that when it comes to that… quality is much better than quantity.  The ones I do have I treasure and could trust with my life.  Of course I have acquaintances… but the ones I actually confide in… well they are few and far between.  I would go out on a limb for those people.  I always try to have a shoulder to cry on or a ready laugh for good times.  Good friends are truly hard to find.

I am a pet owner.  Our pets are just as much of a part of the family as we are.  They are special to us… and are always there to perk us up when we are feeling down.   I’ve always been a cat person.. since as long as I can remember.  We have three cats… but never intended to have all three.  Our plan was to have two.. but life had it’s own plan… and now we have three.  I couldn’t imagine not having a pet in our home.

I am a wife.  Ben’s wife.  The day I married him was one of the best days of my life… cliche or not.  Being his wife is so special to me… so important to me.  No matter what life brings… I will always be his wife.  I find such comfort in his arms… such love.  My love for him is endless…. and I find reasons everyday to remind me why I fell in love with him.  We share a special bond that has weathered the test of time… of trials.  I still look at my rings on my fingers and smile…. they are the symbol of our devotion to one another.  I am so lucky that I found him.  Or did he find me? 🙂

I am a submissive.  I belong to Ben… I am his in every sense of the word.  I’ve always had that submissive tendency… but little did I know the depth it would go.  I had no clue that when I met him that we would be here.  I feel my submission to Ben in every inch of my being… even when it’s difficult.  It’s a state of being.  Being his is very important to me.  It is just one of the many ways I define myself…. a way that has become a big part of me over the last six years.  I’m glad that I discovered it… as it fulfills me in ways I never dared to dream.

I am flawed.  I am a person.  I am me.

