This may not be a very popular post… I’m sure many will disagree with me. Honestly, that’s perfectly fine. This is my feelings on something and don’t expect everyone to see it my way.

It seems to be very popular in the spanking blog community to refer to someone’s ass as a bottom. Every time I read this.. a little piece of me cringes… and thinks… really?  Out of every word that can be used to describe one’s rear end, many people use bottom?  I can’t see ever referring to my own as such… hell, I never even used it with my children. I always used butt.

It takes me back to when I was a kid and my best friends parents wouldn’t let them use the word fart. So, when I was around them.. I couldn’t either. I had to use fluff or toot. Um really?! I was like 12 years old! It seem so ridiculous to me. And so part of me feels the same. I get the whole little girl (or boy) aspect of some relationships… and I say to each their own. But, I also don’t get it.

I can’t see how that word would be remotely sexy. Maybe someone can explain it to me… but I’ve always struggled to really understand. I’ve been reading blogs for years now… and have seen it since I began. I think that if Ben ever said “I’m going to spank your bottom”, I’d look at him like he grew a third eye.. and it certainly wouldn’t turn me on. And using it wouldn’t make me feel very grown up.

I don’t think I really have a point to this post. It certainly doesn’t have anything to do with my relationship. I just have a hard time with it… which is kind of stupid.  It’s weird that thinking “oh he’s going to spank my bottom” wouldn’t turn me on… but if I thought “oh he’s going to spank my ass“… that somehow makes a difference. Go figure.

Word play is kind of weird like that. It is kind of amazing me to me that different words hold emotional weight. I suppose that it makes sense… though in that line of thought I don’t really know where my dislike of bottom came from.  Maybe I spent so much of my young years trying to be grown up that the idea of not being grown up doesn’t appeal to me. I’m a grown woman and expect to be treated as such, even when I’m in trouble. Now doesn’t that sound funny?

